Visit to New Yankee Stadium

Not only was I fortunate enough to have visited the MLB Fan Cave during my trip to the Big Apple, I also had the opportunity to attend a game in which my two favorite teams played. I grew up a Yankees fan but also love the Cincinnati Reds, and having never been to New Yankee Stadium, this was quite the experience.

 

Stepping off the 161st Street train station and walking up to The House That Jeter Built, the mere size of the architectural juggernaut was a bit overwhelming. Meandering our way through the crowd to the entrance, banners were tastefully placed on the facade. Inside, numerous photos and banners paid homage to the organization’s twenty-seven World Championships as well as the notable players, coaches and executives who are responsible for the Yankees winning said titles. This historical testimony elicited a plethora of emotions from me in one of those rare, unadulterated moments that I felt absolute joy and pride being a fan of the storied franchise.*
We took our seats in the left center bleachers, which were surprisingly pretty good seats. The weather was great — a hot 72 degrees in the sun and a cool 72 degrees in the shade. A pitcher’s duel between CC Sabathia and Johnny Cueto was great for the game, but terrible for my attention span. It wasn’t until the 5th when things started to get interesting. It was a bit strange to not overtly root for the Reds (and to not insert “Redlegs” in “Take Me Out to the Ball Game”), being that I attend a sizable amount of Cincinnati games and it’s something that I’m accustomed to doing often. Instead, I reveled in the opportunity to be surrounded by 35,000 Yankees fans and to gratuitously high five like-minded folks.
The Yankees were handed a loss that day, as the Reds took the series 2-1. I’d have been disappointed, but then again, the last time I watched a Bronx Bombers game at Yankee Stadium (2000) I also saw a loss. They went on to win their 26th World Championship that year, so at least there’s that. And if they are to lose to anyone in Major League Baseball, I’d prefer it to be to my hometown team.
*On any other day, I spend much more time defending my fanhood than actually cheering for my favorite team.
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Sports

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

