Defending Female Fanhood. Again.

I’m the first to sing Twitter’s praises, but it isn’t always rainbows and unicorns. It’s no secret that Twitter haters run rampant, and I am not one who ordinarily encourages enabling them by giving their drivel any time of day. Conversely, I think this needs to be addressed.

About a week ago, I saw a tweet by someone I followed:

Tweet via @idsphotography

Not only is that comment wholly misogynistic, it is sorely misguided. As a woman, it does not really offend me. As a female sports fan who has—time after time—had to defend her fanhood and all but fight for respect, it hit a particularly sour note with me. So here I go (again), defending my being a female sports enthusiast.

The original article posted by Cosmopolitan simply states that Women Actually Watch Football. This finding isn’t necessarily new or shocking, but the response that followed was: “TOTAL BS! Women do this because their men won’t pay attention.”

First off, since when does enjoying something have to come with ulterior motives? Secondly, I haven’t dated in a long time, and there is not one man from whom I desire attention. Like pop culture in general, sports are an outstanding vehicle for social commentary. It is a subject matter that appeals to all walks of life. In fact, I’d even say that some of the more intelligent sports fans I know are women.

This isn’t to say, however, that there aren’t women out there who play “sports fan” to impress the opposite sex. But I’ll boldly say that is the exception.

Women have come a long way as sports fans, and it’s about time we start getting some credit for it.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Social Media, Sports, TV

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

